SEILER & SEILER – URBAN PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT

CAPACITY WIZARD WINTERTHUR

SEILERSEILER_20
 
The Capacity Wizard allows automated and rapid identification of potential areas for urban densification. The results are used as a basis for specific area developments or revision of land-use plans. The Wizard allows more time for the election of the decisive parameters and the detailed analysis of the results and also guarantees consistent results.

The Capacity Wizard detects the current situation and calculates the capacity of construction zones with respect to construction volume, floor space, population and employment. These figures are calculated automatically for a selected area, yet important parameters such as densification rate or potential volume requirement per inhabitant or employee remain varied. The basic data sets used in the calculation can be easily and quickly updated periodically.

The Wizard is an ArcGIS toolbox that has been programmed with Python. A complementary intelligent Excel based tool allows the assumptions to vary independently of ArcGIS and thus it is easy to create and compare different scenarios. The city of Winterthur is using the Wizard as part of the overall revision of the land-use plan.

CATEGORY
TYPE
CLIENT
STATUS
Urban Planning, GIS Analysis and Mapping
Commission
Public
Completed

SEILER & SEILER – STÄDTEBAU UND STADTPLANUNG

KAPAZITÄTSWIZARD WINTERTHUR

SEILERSEILER_20
 
Der Kapazitätswizard ermöglicht eine automatisierte und schnelle Identifikation von Potenzialräumen für die Innere Verdichtung. Die Resultate sind als Grundlage für spezifische Gebietsentwicklungen oder die Überarbeitung von Nutzungsplanungen einsetzbar. Der Wizard ermöglicht mehr Zeit für die Wahl der entscheidenden Parameter und die genaue Analyse der Resultate und garantiert ausserdem konsistente Resultate.

Der Kapazitätswizard erfasst die aktuelle Situation und berechnet die Kapazität der Bauzonen bezüglich Bauvolumen, Geschossfläche, Einwohner- und Arbeitsplätzen. Diese Kennzahlen werden für ein ausgewähltes Gebiet automatisch berechnet und trotzdem bleiben wichtige Parameter wie beispielsweise Verdichtungs­potenziale oder der Volumenbedarf pro Einwohner oder Beschäftigtem variierbar. Die zur Berechnung verwendeten Basisdatensätze lassen sich periodisch einfach und schnell aktualisieren.

Der Wizard ist eine ArcGIS Toolbox, die mit Python programmiert wurde. Ein ergänzendes intelligentes Excel-basiertes Instrument erlaubt es, die Annahmen unabhängig von ArcGIS zu variieren und somit verschiedene Szenarien einfach zu erzeugen und zu vergleichen. Die Stadt Winterthur verwendet den Wizard im Rahmen der Gesamtrevision der Bau- und Zonenordnung.

KATEGORIE
ART
AUFTRAGGEBER
STATUS
Stadtplanung, GIS Analyse und Mapping
Direktauftrag
Öffentlich
Abgeschlossen